Galway Getaway!

Tomorrow marks the start of week six and I can’t believe it! I have so many places to go and things to see with so little time! Yes, I will admit before getting on the airplane to fly to Ireland, a semester seems like so much time and maybe even too much time away from my family and friends. I know I wouldn’t be here with out every one of you. I miss you all like crazy and can’t wait to catch up over coffee or tea as soon as I get back! Until then, I plan to make the most of every day I am in this beautiful country! The moment I realized that time was slipping from my fingers, Jena and I planned a weekend trip to go on 3 days later to Galway, Ireland.  
Friday morning, Jena and I met Jacie at the Art of Coffee Café on the Grand Canal in Dublin. On our walk to the coffee shop, we couldn’t help but walk next to the canal taking in the beautiful changing leaves, the chilly morning, and the smell of fall. We ordered coffee and sat outside taking it all in. Who would think to put a blanket on the back of each chair incase it gets a little cold out by the water? Talk about brilliant and absolutely called for! It’s the little things. We spent the rest of the day walking through a part of Dublin we hadn’t seen yet and finding smaller parks and gardens tucked away in the middle of the city. Instead of taking the bus back to campus we decided to take the hour and a half walk. It was beautiful and I enjoyed it but my feet didn’t think it was a good idea as I was running through drills at volleyball practice that night. Ouch!

imageimage
I always thought it would be cool to ride a train. Saturday morning Jena and I jumped on the train to Galway that took two and a half hours but man did it fly by. I didn’t realize how much I was missing the countryside until I got to see all the fields, sheep, cattle, and green everything else. We arrived with enough time to eat lunch and find the bus scheduled to take us to the Cliffs of Moher. The cliffs were absolutely breathtaking! On the way back to Galway, the driver took us along the coast and stopped briefly at the Dunguire Castle for us to snap a quick picture. The full day of traveling was very worth it, no questions asked. Dinner and live music at The King’s Head was the perfect ending to day number one.


 Turns out the room Jena scheduled for us to stay in Saturday night was at a Bed and Breakfast! There’s a couple more firsts spent in Ireland, the B&B and the Irish breakfast! The full Irish breakfast was served with bacon, eggs, sausage, toast, orange juice, and coffee. The B&B was located outside of Galway in Salt Hill right by the water. Once again, instead of taking the bus, we walked to Galway through Salt Hill taking in the view of Galway Bay. Just for some perspective, Dublin is on the east coast of Ireland and Galway is on the west coast of Ireland. Both equally beautiful, Galway is much smaller with a lot less people. Good thing because we only had a few hours to find the Galway Cathedral, the Spanish Arch, Quay Street, and the Doughnut Man! Yes, we managed to see it all, I think, and are now safely on our way back to Dublin!

One thought on “Galway Getaway!

  1. Morgan, I am so happy that you got to see the Cliffs of Moher. I loved them when I was there and thought they were perhaps one of the
    most beautiful sites in the country. Continue to enjoy your experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

